If I disable a task, will it catch up on events it missed when I re-enable it?
For these purposes, disabling a task is essentially the same as deleting it, and re-creating it later. While a task is disabled, all connectivity to the incoming event stream is disabled – as far as your disabled task is concerned, there are no events coming in at all.
When you re-enable the task, it is reconnected to incoming events. It does not receive any notification about events that came in while it was disabled.
This means that you can freely disable and re-enable tasks whenever you like, knowing that you're directly controlling what does or doesn't take place.